penn station nyc to jfk

Penn Station NYC to JFK: The Two Transit Routes and What They Cost

Contents

Getting from Penn Station to JFK is not a shopping decision, and it is not an open question. There are two published public-transit answers, and the MTA ranks them on its own JFK guide rather than presenting them as equal picks. Take the Long Island Rail Road and the AirTrain if you are in Midtown Manhattan or Downtown Brooklyn, or if you want to save some time. Take the subway and the AirTrain if you are outside those areas, or if you want to save on fares. That is the MTA’s framing, and it is the whole decision.

The arithmetic is closed too. The AirTrain leg is a flat $8.75 paid at the Jamaica or Howard Beach AirTrain stations on top of whatever you paid to get there, so the subway route is $3.00 plus $8.75, or $11.75, and the railroad route is a $5.25 off-peak or $7.25 peak CityTicket plus $8.75, or $14.00 and $16.00. The Port Authority publishes those totals for Penn Station, and the MTA states the $11.75 figure directly.

Key takeaways

  • The AirTrain fare is $8.75 one way between JFK and the Jamaica or Howard Beach interchange stations, and the Port Authority states children under five ride free.
  • The subway route totals $11.75 — the MTA says that is a $3 subway fare plus the $8.75 AirTrain fare, taking the E, J or Z to Sutphin Blvd-Archer Av-JFK Airport.
  • The LIRR route totals $14.00 off-peak or $16.00 peak, using a CityTicket from Penn Station to Jamaica at $5.25 or $7.25 plus the same $8.75.
  • The MTA warns that not all trains stop at Jamaica, and that the Port Washington branch does not go through Jamaica at all.
  • Current fares were approved by the MTA Board on September 30, 2025 and took effect on January 4, 2026.

The AirTrain fare is the fixed part of both routes

Whichever route you pick, the last leg is identical. The Port Authority states that the one-way AirTrain fare between JFK and the Jamaica and Howard Beach stations is $8.75, and that children under five ride free. It is collected at those stations rather than at the airport terminals, so a Penn Station passenger pays it on arrival at Jamaica.

The AirTrain fare is never bundled into anything else. The Port Authority is explicit that AirTrain requires a separate fare from the subway, the LIRR and Metro-North Railroad, and the MTA repeats the point: $8.75 on top of your subway or railroad fare. The two routes therefore differ only in what you spend to reach the interchange, and in which interchange you can use: the Port Authority notes the Long Island Rail Road connection is at Jamaica, while Howard Beach is subway-only.

The cheaper route: subway to Sutphin Blvd-Archer Av-JFK Airport

The MTA names this option precisely. Take the E, J or Z — a Jamaica Center-bound train — to Sutphin Blvd-Archer Av-JFK Airport, then follow the signs to the AirTrain. The MTA gives the fare as $11.75 for most riders. The subway component is the ordinary base fare: $3.00 for most riders on subways and local, limited, rush and Select Bus Service buses, paid on entry, and once you are in you can ride as far as you like.

At Sutphin Blvd you leave the subway fare zone. The MTA spells this out: you follow signs to the AirTrain and go out through the turnstiles, which is where the separate charge lands. Nothing has gone wrong when the gate asks you to tap again. The MTA also notes that the A and E trains run local overnight, and advises allowing extra time.

The railroad route: LIRR from Penn Station to Jamaica

The Port Authority’s sample figures put the railroad ahead on time. For a trip starting at Midtown Manhattan’s Penn Station it publishes the E train at approximately 50 minutes for $11.75, and the LIRR at approximately 30 minutes for $14.00 off-peak or $16.00 peak. The Port Authority does not state whether those times include the AirTrain leg, so treat them as a comparison between routes rather than a door-to-terminal promise.

The ticket you want is a CityTicket. The MTA states you can buy a ticket from Penn Station, Atlantic Terminal or Grand Central to Jamaica for $5.25 during off-peak hours or $7.25 during peak hours. Both ends of the leg carry the same label on the MTA’s station pages — Long Island Rail Road, City Zone. The MTA states that LIRR service runs 24/7, with different schedules depending on destination and time of day.

Pro tip

The MTA’s own advice for this trip is to sit near the front of an eastbound LIRR train, which puts you closer to the AirTrain when you disembark at Jamaica. It costs nothing, it is decided before you board, and with luggage that shorter walk is worth having.

What the two routes cost, side by side

Both published options, with the Port Authority’s sample times for this origin.

Route from Penn Station Fare to the interchange AirTrain fare Total Port Authority sample time
Subway (E, J or Z) to Sutphin Blvd-Archer Av-JFK Airport $3.00 subway fare $8.75 $11.75 Approximately 50 minutes (E train)
LIRR to Jamaica, off-peak $5.25 CityTicket $8.75 $14.00 Approximately 30 minutes
LIRR to Jamaica, peak $7.25 CityTicket $8.75 $16.00 Approximately 30 minutes

Peak, off-peak, and a ceiling on what you can pay

The peak surcharge is the main variable on the railroad route, and the two agencies word it differently. The Port Authority’s footnote defines LIRR peak fares as weekday rush hours of 6:00 a.m. to 10:00 a.m. ET and 4:00 p.m. to 8:00 p.m. ET, with off-peak covering weekdays outside those hours, all day Saturday and Sunday, and holidays. The MTA words it by train: peak fares are charged on trains scheduled to arrive in NYC terminals between 6 a.m. and 10 a.m. or depart NYC terminals between 4 p.m. and 8 p.m. Near a boundary, the label attaches to the train’s schedule, not to when you reach the ticket machine.

There is a ceiling. Under the current schedule the MTA states that all one-way tickets in the city zones match CityTicket prices, so nobody pays more than $7.25 peak or $5.25 off-peak within New York City, and peak CityTicket has become a permanent fare product. Buying on board is expensive: the MTA’s fares page states a $7.75 to $8.50 surcharge for on-board sales, while its fare-change material describes that surcharge rising by $2 to $8.

Two details that catch people out

First: not every LIRR train from Penn Station reaches Jamaica. The MTA states that all LIRR service except the Port Washington branch goes through Jamaica, though not all trains stop there, and tells riders to make sure the train they board stops at Jamaica. That is a check you make on the platform every time.

Second: Penn Station is not the only Manhattan railroad option. The MTA describes Penn Station and Grand Central Madison as parallel Manhattan terminals, with many trains originating or terminating at one or the other. The fare is identical either way: the MTA quotes the same $5.25 off-peak and $7.25 peak ticket to Jamaica from Penn Station, Atlantic Terminal or Grand Central. If you are closer to Grand Central, using it costs nothing extra.

Paying for it: contactless, caps and groups

There is no separate AirTrain ticket to buy. The Port Authority states you can pay with any contactless method — credit card, debit card, a phone using Apple Pay or Google Pay, or an OMNY card. Travellers paying cash can buy or refill an OMNY card at the ticket vending machines in the Howard Beach or Jamaica subway stations.

Two policies matter if you are repeating the trip or travelling in a group. The Port Authority states that eligible AirTrain fares are automatically capped at $43.50 within a rolling 30-day period, provided you tap with the same payment method every trip. For groups, the first rider pays $8.75 and additional riders $4.50 each, up to five riders and a maximum of $26.75, all tapping within five minutes. Both are current policies and could change.

Common mistake

Assuming an unlimited-ride pass covers the last leg. The MTA is explicit: the AirTrain fare is $8.75 on top of your subway or railroad fare, and unlimited passes cannot be used on the AirTrain. An unlimited pass gets you to Sutphin Blvd and no further, so budget the $8.75 separately and have a contactless card ready.

Accessibility, and the date on these fares

Both ends of the railroad leg are accessible stations. The MTA’s pages for Penn Station and Jamaica carry the same statement: an accessible station with elevators, tactile warning strips and audiovisual passenger information systems. The MTA calls the E, J or Z trip to Sutphin Blvd-Archer Av-JFK Airport an accessible trip, and the Port Authority states that wheelchair-accessible subway connections are available at Jamaica and Howard Beach.

Every fare above carries a date. The MTA Board approved the current changes to fares, tolls and ticketing policies on September 30, 2025, and they took effect on January 4, 2026. Pin any figure here to that schedule and check the operator’s fare page before travelling. The Port Authority also carries an advisory that getting to and from JFK may take longer than usual because of construction at the airport, asking travellers to allow significantly more time and recommending public transportation. Check it on the day you fly.

Frequently asked questions

How much does it cost to get from Penn Station to JFK by public transport?

The subway route totals $11.75, which the MTA describes as a $3 subway fare plus an $8.75 AirTrain fare. The LIRR route to Jamaica totals $14.00 off-peak or $16.00 peak — a $5.25 or $7.25 CityTicket plus the same $8.75. The Port Authority publishes those totals for Penn Station.

Where is the AirTrain fare actually paid?

At the interchange stations, not at the airport. The Port Authority states that passengers using public transportation are charged when entering or exiting the Jamaica and Howard Beach AirTrain stations. Travel between JFK terminals is free.

Does an unlimited pass cover the AirTrain?

No. The MTA states that the $8.75 AirTrain fare sits on top of your subway or railroad fare, and that unlimited passes cannot be used on the AirTrain. The Port Authority notes the same: AirTrain requires a separate fare from the subway, LIRR and Metro-North Railroad.

Can you board any LIRR train at Penn Station for Jamaica?

No. The MTA states that all LIRR service except the Port Washington branch goes through Jamaica, but that not all trains stop there, and advises making sure the train you board stops at Jamaica.

Is there a way to pay with cash?

Indirectly. The AirTrain takes contactless payment. The Port Authority states that a new OMNY card can be bought, or an existing one refilled, using cash, credit or debit at the ticket vending machines in the Howard Beach or Jamaica subway stations.

Which route is faster from Penn Station?

On the Port Authority’s sample figures for Penn Station, the LIRR is quoted at approximately 30 minutes against approximately 50 minutes for the E train. The Port Authority does not state whether those times include the AirTrain leg, so use them to compare the two rather than as a total.

Author

  • Ryan Hollister is the byline for RedSky Adventures' motorcycle trip planning and transport coverage, including route logistics, fuel stops, weather considerations, and bike shipping. Guides published under this name analyze manufacturer specifications, published ratings, and documented owner feedback to provide clear, actionable information. All content is researched from published sources rather than from hands-on testing or first-hand experience.

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *